After the story book Playoff moment for Nazem Kadri's Playoffs return to score the winning goal to have Lightning Head Coach Jon Cooper question the goal without stating his reasons.
We would later learn it appeared the Avalanche had six skaters on the ice when Kadri scored. After Cooper called a "heartbreaking loss." And vented about the call on the ice and in fact he felt like the goal was scored illegally of a quick change from Kadri.
Cooper wouldn't elaborate on how exactly, presumably for fear of being fined or suspended by the NHL. He then exited his post-game media availability without entertaining other questions. Cooper called it «an unfortunate non-call» on Thursday, after hockey analysts rewinding multiple angles and and checking the play frame by frame to watch that goal and see what Cooper was upset with.
We have now learned from TSN Insider Pierre LeBrun, guest on Overdrive with Bryan Hayes, Jeff O'Neill and Jamie McLennan to discuss what happened and a possible rule change.
«One of my fears out of this if you really want to broaden the scope of what this could all mean, if that whenever something like this happens, there tends to be a bit of an eager reaction to come up with a rule change. If you remember, when San Jose scored in overtime in a playoff game a number of years ago off a hand pass against St. Louis, that did lead to an actual rule change. I hope this doesn't lead to a rule change. You can't review everything, at some point, you have to trust the four people officiating the game.»
- Pierre Lebrun